Follow

The Course Settings view

Course > Settings displays general catalog information and settings for your course. Here are the tasks you'll start or perform here:

Finalize course

Finalizing the course submits student grades to the registrar. Generally speaking, it's the last step you take when running your course—when you finalize, you include your students' course grades in their permanent academic records.

  • You can finalize individual students or the entire course all at once.
  • You can also finalize the course in the Gradebook or on the Final Grade page.

Read all about finalizing your course.

Faculty-controlled settings

Most course info is entered by the registrar or comes from the course catalog. You can modify these items here: Description, Sync, Student Access, Progress, and Discussions.

Start/End dates and Student Access

Start/End dates confine student activity in the course to the time between those dates. Students cannot interact with course materials before the start date nor after the end date. If you wish to allow student access outside the start/end dates, ask an admin to change the Student Access date within the Start/End dates field.

Description

You can modify the description for individual sections of the course. This does not affect the master description in the course catalog. You can also modify the course name for particular students in the course roster. The description will appear on the Syllabus view.

Sync

Learn how to sync multiple sections of the same course in this article.

Published

The Published setting determines whether or not your students can see course content. This can help prevent over-eager students from, for instance, buying the wrong books ahead of time after looking at a "work-in-progress" reading list. When a course is Published, they have full access to it. When it is not, they'll only be able to see the course name, description, pass/fail status, credits/hours, faculty, and meeting times.

  1. Click Published.
  2. Selected Yes or No.
  3. Click Save to finish.

Progress

Progress determines whether your students can view their in-progress grades.

  1. Click Progress.
  2. Check or uncheck Visible to Students.
  3. Click Save to finish.

When course progress is not visible to students, they will not be able to see their overall course grade until you finalize that student or course.

Discussions

This setting lets you determine whether students can create new discussions. If enabled, students can add new discussions in both the course and individual lessons. You'll retain complete control over their discussions. You can delete them, close them, or even upgrade them to a graded discussion.

  1. Click Discussions.
  2. Can students add discussions? Select Yes or No.
  3. Click Save to finish.
Was this article helpful?
9 out of 13 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

8 Comments

  • 3
    Avatar
    Brooke Harper

    Once I have uploded a file to a course (in this case, a Word document) how do i delete it.

  • 1
    Avatar
    Diane Cook

    I have the same question. I need to delete a file under information. (also a Word document)

     

  • 0
    Avatar
    Dr. Walt Kaneakua

    Me too! The tutorial doesn't address deleting an unwanted file once installed!

    Help please! Walt Kaneakua

     

  • 0
    Avatar
    Vanessa Valdes

    How can I change the order of the files that I have uploaded?

     

  • 0
    Avatar
    Bryan Easley

    Ditto. Can't find anywhere that the Edit File box pictured above becomes available.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Brendan O'Donnell

    Apologies, everyone. I need to update this article and some of the images in it. Should be done soon!

    UPDATE: Okay, it's updated!

    Edited by Brendan O'Donnell
  • 0
    Avatar
    Jan Van Spronsen

    I need to know how to delete files!

     

  • 0
    Avatar
    Brendan O'Donnell

    To delete a file:

    1. Click the file name to see the file viewer
    2. Click the little ellipsis symbol in the upper right corner of the file viewer
    3. You'll see a Delete option in the actions menu...
Please sign in to leave a comment.