Groups include a bulletin board, calendar, chat, discussions, and shared files. Depending on a particular group's settings, administrators, moderators, and members may have differing levels of access to these features.
On the group's dashboard:
- You can join the group, request an invitation, or ignore an invitation you've received.
- View information like the group's description and administrators.
- See upcoming group calendar events.
- See alerts for activity in discussions in which you've participated.
The group calendar shows events related to the group's activities.
- Group administrators and moderators can add events to the calendar. Members cannot add events.
- Calendar events display on the group's Dashboard view. They also display on members' personal calendars (when they check My Groups) and Home > Dashboard views.
Chat, if enabled by the administrator in the group's settings, lets group members have real-time conversations. Any member can view transcripts of past chats (which are organized by date).
Discussions are pretty straightforward: group members post comments and replies. All group members can participate in a discussion; who can start a discussion depends on what's established in the group's settings.
To start a discussion:
- Click Add a discussion.
- Give it a title and a topic. Both are required in order to publish a discussion for the group.
- Check whether you wish to publish the discussion.
- Published discussions are visible and available to all group members.
- Unpublished discussions are visible only to the person who added it.
- You can see your own unpublished discussions by selecting Drafts from the drop-down at the top of the group Discussions view.
In a discussion:
- Group members can comment, reply to comments, and reply to other replies.
- Anyone who starts a discussion can delete it. Users can also delete their own comments and replies.
- Group admininstrators can delete any discussion, comment, or reply. Moderators can delete comments and replies.
- Click to report a comment.
- The blue circle indicates an unread comment. A gray circle indicates a read comment. Click the circle to toggle it to the other status.
- Use the filter to sort the discussion by Oldest/Newest, Unread posts, those with Recent activity, or those with the most activity (a comment with a lot of replies, for example).
Files gives your group a place to upload and view any kind of file related to the group's activities.
- All group members can view/download files and add folders.
- Uploading permissions are established in the group's settings.
- Group admins and moderators can rename, move, and delete any file.