Follow

How to re-assign inactive usernames to new user accounts

In this article, you'll learn how to re-assign an inactive username to a new user account. To do this, you must be a Populi Account Administrator for your school.

Username already taken

When setting up a new user account for someone at your school, you may bump into a message like this:

profile_username_taken
  1. The message links to the profile to which the username is already assigned.
  2. Click the name to view the profile in a new browser tab.
  3. If the user account is still active...
    • You may need to assign an all-new username for the new account.
    • If the profile belongs to someone who no longer uses Populi, you'll need to deactivate the user account before re-assigning the username.

How to free up a username

profile_reassign_username

To free up a username, the user account must be deactivated and the deleted username flagged as ready to be re-used.

Deactivating the user account

Any Staff user can deactivate a user account; however, user accounts for Account Admins and Billing Contacts cannot be deactivated unless they're removed from those positions.

  1. Click   and select Edit user.
  2. In the dialog, select Not a user.
  3. Confirm your choice and click Save.

Reassigning a username

Only a Populi Account Administrator can perform this action.

  1. Click  .
  2. Select Allow deleted username to be re-assigned.
  3. Confirm your choice and click OK.

After performing these steps, you can assign that username to the new user account.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.